The Festive Fantasy Quiz 2013

Ladies and gents, goblins and trolls, quills at the ready. It’s time to kick off Festive Fantasy Week in style with the Festive Fantasy Quiz 2013!

Before we start, I have one message: “Cheat and you only cheat yourself. No Google, all you sneaky sneak-thieves out there!”

Right, let’s get started. And no, it’s not multiple-choice! Mwahaha…

  1. In total, how many members are there in the Fellowship of the Ring in The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien?
  2. In the Warcraft universe, how many playable Alliance races make their home on Kalimdor (as of the latest expansion pack)?
  3. How many Paladins does it take to screw in a light bulb?
  4. What is the symbol of House Tyrell in A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin?
  5. How many Elder Scrolls games have been made and released, to date?
  6. What are trolls in the Discworld books made out of?
  7. Fill in the blank to correctly complete the rhyme: ‘Hey dol! merry dol! ring a dong ____ !
  8. In The Kingkiller Chronicle series by Patrick Rothfuss, what is the object that Kvothe/Kote possesses but is not able to open?
  9. What are the names of the two fictional countries that feature in The Princess Bride?
  10. Which Dwarven clan lived in Khazad-dûm (Moria)?
  11. How many base classes were there in the Player’s Handbook 1st Edition of Dungeons & Dragons?
  12. What is the name of the rat-like race from the Warhammer Fantasy universe?
  13. In The Lord of the Rings, what is it that Bilbo claims is a ‘dangerous business’?

BONUS QUESTION – In the Harry Potter books, what is the name of the spell that is used to glue the victim’s tongue to the roof of their mouth?

Each correct answer nets you 1 point. A correct bonus answer nets you an additional 2 points. That bonus could make all the difference!

Leave your answers here as a comment or post them up on our Facebook wall. You have until Friday 20th Dec to get your answers in! The winner will be announced in the New Year and duly presented with their certificate.

Good luck everyone! And don’t forget to check back tomorrow for our Ultimate Fantasy Christmas Wishlist

Festive Fantasy Week 2013 (#FestiveFantasyWeek)

7 thoughts on “The Festive Fantasy Quiz 2013

  1. N. E. White 16-Dec-2013 / 14:53

    Oh, man. I can’t enter without cheating. Okay, I’ll do it. Later. After I have some time to come with a good one for #3. If I make you laugh, will I get extra points?

    • James 16-Dec-2013 / 17:08

      I’ll accept correct answers or suitably hilarious ones. I admit #3 is an obscure one if you never played World of Warcraft back in the day 🙂

  2. N. E. White 16-Dec-2013 / 14:54

    Arg! I mean, I’ll take the test, but I won’t cheat. 😮

  3. Sriad 16-Dec-2013 / 21:35

    Uh let’s see… Time to risk embarrassing myself by following the rules!

    1: 9ish.
    2: 1? I think I like 1.
    3: None, that is a job for the peasantry.
    4: A rose. Or something flowery I think. Definitely not a wolf, dragon, stag, lion, squid, or skinless man so by process of elimination it *has* to be a rose because it’s the only heraldic animal left.
    5: 5. Or 6 maybe but I like that answer to number 5 could be 5. And now if I write 5 two more times (one now) the number of times I mention that number in this answer will also be 5.
    6: Various silicate materials, or just “rock” if you’re not attached to your arms and/or legs.
    7: Dillo and shame on you for suggesting there’s an internal rhyme there. 😉
    8: The chest with 3 locks.
    9: Gulder (or Guilder… but I might only be thinking that because “money”. Anyway, G-something-der) and Florin, which is easier because it sounds like Florence.
    10: uh…, Duradin maybe? I know that the balrog was Durin’s bane so I’ve gotta guess based on that.
    11: Fighter, thief, cleric, wizard; I’m fairly sure Paladin and bard were special classes because they had high stat requirements. (plus the races because back then “elf” was a class, but I think not a “basic” one.)
    12: Skaven. How is that easier than remembering how many Elder Scrolls games there are? I’ve never even *played* Warhammer.
    13: Traveling at all. Or possibly “adventure” or “thieving” or something but my first response is the official one. I’m just sayin’ “time to risk embarrassing myself by following rules” again, probably needlessly.

    My (I’m sure incorrect) answer to the bonus question: confoundo.

    • James 16-Dec-2013 / 23:08

      Well, I can safely say that no more and no less than 1 of those answers is correct…

      I joke, of course. I see a good few correct answers and a good few funny ones too, so you’re all good. Thanks for taking part and fingers crossed you’re the winner. You could win a completely awesome e-certificate!

Comment on This

