Let’s Be (Thought) Provoking

I was driving into work this morning and listening to one of my countless CDs that are strewn about the place. After months of hearing a familiar song over and over, I finally listened to the lyrics today and heard something pretty interesting:

But death is a force, not a man on a horse.

In case you want to check out the song for yourself, it’s by a band called Dry The River, but I forget what it’s called now. They only have one album, so it shouldn’t be too hard to find.

Sometimes, when you hear something that grabs your attention, it can get you thinking and send your imagination into overdrive.

Have you heard/read anything recently that really got you thinking? Share it here!

P.S. I also updated the My Stories page with two new flash fiction pieces. Check them out when you get a chance!

~ James

3 thoughts on “Let’s Be (Thought) Provoking

  1. tmso 01-Aug-2012 / 15:33

    To be honest, just about all my stories come from snippets of songs. I often can not remember the original inspiration, but that’s where it comes from. Lately, I haven’t been listening to a lot of music, so no new work. But this song inspired a new dragon novel I’ll be working on next year:

    (The song has nothing to do with dragons, but that’s what came to mind when I saw the video. Don’t ask why, I don’t know either.)

  2. debyfredericks 01-Aug-2012 / 16:04

    The current novel I’m working on. I got up at 2 am and a whole bunch of my son’s friends were sitting in the living room, silently waiting for another kid. I hadn’t known they were in the house. It was freaky. Next morning I started working on this cabal of wizards who were there to kidnap their next victim. As the story developed, the cabal morphed quite a bit and a werewolf appeared, but the basis was there in those seven silent boys who creeped me out (but probably were doing their best just to stay awake).

  3. Norman Gray 02-Aug-2012 / 01:17

    I’ve written a fair few short stories based on song lyrics. But truth be told, they’re usually misheard song lyrics; I’ll misinterpret a line in a song as something completely nonsensical and off the wall, and it’ll give me an idea for a story that’s a little bit “outside of the box”, sort of speak. The tone of the song itself I think helps set the mood of the story too. But I definietely find that music can at times be a strange and wonderful source of inspiration.

Comment on This

