My Top 3 Fantasy Reads

Here’s an idea for today. I’ll share my top three fantasy reads and give you a good reason to go and read them yourselves. Then you tell me your top three in the comments section and we’ll see if we can find some stories we’ve not tried before. I’m not going to include obvious choices like Lord of the Rings.

The Blade Itself by Joe Abercrombie

Dark, gritty, bloody. Written fantastically and full of action, the characters are all hugely flawed, but likable, and the story itself is intriguing. Definitely recommended.

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Although it’s written for children, Sabriel (and its two sequels) are full of unique ideas and great worldbuilding. You’ll find yourself warming quickly to the characters and unable to put the book down.

Retribution Falls by Chris Wooding

A story based around airships, which are piloted around like something out of Star Wars. There are dogfights galore, intense ground-based skirmishes and fantastic characters to top it off.

So, what are your top three fantasy reads?

2 thoughts on “My Top 3 Fantasy Reads

  1. blsmadden 12-Jul-2012 / 13:10

    Scatterlings by Isobel Carmody – set in a post-apocalyptic world populated by telepathic clanspeople where those left from the past age, pale and technologically advanced, shut themselves off from the environment in a massive dome. The story is told by a girl who bridges the gap between these two peoples. I read this book over and over again in high school.

    The Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce – first read it when I was twelve, and though aimed more at children I still love it. A short, exciting series with a very strong female lead, full of sword action and war, magic, and occasionally interfering Gods. The other stories set in the same world are also lots of fun, but for me, the original is always best.

    The Stand by Stephen King – I count this as a fantasy, what with the devastating plague, shared prophetic dreams among the survivors, and a demon disguised as a man who can morph into a crow it features. A huge cast of very real, amazingly vivid characters, an uber evil villain, and an unforgettable final confrontation.

    Some might not count The Stand as fantasy-fantasy (if you know what I mean), and the first two are really more for children, I think, as were most of the other well-loved fantasies I could think of that didn’t fall under the banner of “obvious.” I remember loving these unmentioned books, but I don’t remember what happened accurately enough to include them. Suppose that shows just how much I’ve read since I left school … oh well. I’ll look into those you posted, I like the look of the airships one, it reminds me of an anime I like. I’ve actually tried reading Sabriel several times, but I never got further than a couple of chapters in, much to the despair of one of my friends, who loved the series. I should probably give it another go.

  2. debyfredericks 12-Jul-2012 / 17:19

    Not necessarily fantasy, but definitely three books by authors who blew me away and drew me into the genre. All of these became influences for me.

    The Tombs of Atuan (Ursula K. Leguin) — featured a young heroine who might or might not have power, in an inscrutable and dangerous setting. Middle volume in the Earthsea series.

    The Forgotten Beasts of Eld (Patricia McKillip) — another powerful woman with an incredible menagerie.

    Plague Ship (Andre Norton) — middle volume of an SF series about a tramp freighter in interstellar space, with a young officer trying to keep the outfit going.

Comment on This

