Fantasy In Motion Interviews… Bill the Pony (Lord of the Rings)

Welcome to Fantasy In Motion’s first Champion Post! Fantasy In Motion Interviews… will now be one of our signature features, involving an interview with a lesser-known character from popular fantasy stories and getting their take on events. Today’s interview will be sure to appeal to Lord of the Rings fans, as we speak to Bill the Pony…

Bill the Pony, staunch companion of the Fellowship, during a moment’s downtime.

* * *

Hi Bill, we’re glad you could join us.

Thanks, I’m excited to be here.

So, for those who don’t know you, could you explain why you’re so famous?

Sure. I had a grand life in Bree, only having to think about where my next feed was coming from. But then the Ringbearer and his little friends came along and all that changed forever. I was bought for twelve silver pennies. They tell me it’s three times what I was worth, but I can’t comment on that.The Hobbits

How was it traveling with the Fellowship of the Ring?

Oh, it was difficult to begin with. I wasn’t in the best shape back then and I feared they might put an arrow through my head if I didn’t keep up. That elf, Legolas; he always had it in for me.

But all that changed when you reached Rivendell, didn’t it?

It sure did, James, it sure did. Soon as I crossed that city’s threshold I felt like a young foal again! I could frolic about with the best of them and not have a care that my joints might give in. Those really were good times.

So, it’s understood that you left the Fellowship’s company when the Watcher in the Water attacked outside Moria. Can you explain why you abandoned your friends to an uncertain fate?

Oh, come on, that’s horse-crap! If it wasn’t for me, that creature would have killed every last one of them and ended their quest there and then. What most people wont know is that I actually possess powerful magical abilities. Forget Gandalf the Grey, it’s Bill the Brave you should watch out for! I fought hoof and er… well, hoof anyway. The Fellowship retreated inside Moria and the Watcher collapsed the door behind them. I started a tactical retreat and barely got away with my life.The Watcher in the Water

But it didn’t end there, did it, Bill?

No, it did not. When I returned to Bree, I was hailed as a hero. Let me tell you, I had my pick of the ladies and got as much feed as I could eat every day. I’d had my taste of the high life and I loved it!

And what about when Frodo, Sam, Merry and Pippin returned to the Shire to find it overtaken by Saruman and his ruffians?

I can’t really comment on that, James. Some say I played a small part in those events, some deny I was even there. I’d prefer to keep it uncertain.

What are your plans for the future?

Well, now that those meddling elves are leaving Middle-earth and Sauron is dealt with, I can return to a life of simple pleasures. Perhaps I’ll explore the Mines of Moria someday, seeing how I didn’t get to go there. I hear Gondor’s nice in the summertime.

Bill, thank you for your time.

No problem. It’s not as if I’m busy, is it?

* * *

If you have any questions for Bill the Pony, he’s going to be sticking with us for the rest of the day, so drop in a comment and he’ll do his best to answer!

4 thoughts on “Fantasy In Motion Interviews… Bill the Pony (Lord of the Rings)

  1. James 09-Jul-2012 / 11:32

    Bill has just realised he may have trouble typing his responses due to having hooves. I will be typing his responses instead. Get your questions in!

  2. James 09-Jul-2012 / 15:38

    Bill’s a little let down that there are no questions for him. He’s concerned that if the interview had been with Legolas, people would care more…

  3. James 09-Jul-2012 / 19:15

    Ho hum, Bill’s off now, anyways. We’ve had 317 hits so far today, so thanks for your interest! 🙂

  4. Tenebris 30-May-2014 / 20:14

    Love ya Bill!

Comment on This

