Author Interview: Orson T. Badger

Hi everyone! Today, we’ve got another author interview for you.

Orson T. Badger is a scifi/fantasy author whose work includes elements of the space opera, thriller and horror genres. I really hope you’ll enjoy reading the interview he gave and please leave your comments below!

ba7fd71760fa0ad8976f9a.L._V399596268_SX200_

* * *

Hi Orson, thanks very much for joining us.

My pleasure. Thanks for the invitation.

When would you say you first considered writing fiction? Was it a conscious decision or something you had always done?

I don’t remember exactly what age but I must have been in elementary school somewhere between third and fourth grade when I decided to write my first epic blockbuster. I think it was called “Battle Beyond Space” and it consisted of about four pages typed, bound in the finest poster board money could buy, cut to standard size and illustrated with a flashy cover by yours truly. I think my Mom kept it and it’s somewhere in storage. At the time my imagination was in overdrive and I spent a majority of my time drawing space battle scenes, fighter jets, strange planets and weird monsters. I used to cut up a stack of typing paper, fold it in half and create all kinds of different stories written and illustrated by me. As I grew up I lost interest in writing and turned more to sketching and drawing until recently. When I went back to school to earn an architectural Masters Degree in 2002 I re-discovered a desire and passion to write.

Are there any books you’ve read that have particularly inspired your writing?

I think successful writers find inspiration in all forms of writing. For me it started with science fiction and then fantasy. In high school I turned to horror stories and found all sorts of inspiration in Stephen King’s works and how he so deftly crafted memorable characters. As I’ve grown techno-thrillers and espionage have inspired how I try to create suspense and pacing. Some of my favorite inspiring authors and books include: J.R.R. Tolkien, Edgar Rice Burroughs,  Frank Herbert’s Dune series, Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series, David Brin’s Startide Rising, Card’s Ender’s Game, Gibson’s Snow Crash, and authors Alistair Reynolds, Tom Clancy and Vince Flynn, just to name a few sources of inspiration.

When you’re browsing the shelves for a new book to read, what type of thing usually grabs your attention?

Definitely the cover. I love art and design so that’s the first thing that grabs my attention. After that I look for an author whose works I enjoy or someone I’ve heard about.

With regards to your own writing, would you say you’re a heavy planner or an improviser?

A little bit of both. I try to rough out an outline of the story idea and main characters and then allow the story to take me on an adventure. As I write sometimes I find myself adding to the plot and changing story directions and other times the outline serves to keep me focused.

Do you find it easy to sit down and just write or do you find you need to motivate yourself first?

If I’m excited about what I’m writing I can’t wait to get back to it. This is the case with the second book of the series I’m working on right now. I think it’s important to be excited about what you’re writing otherwise why would anyone else want to read it? I work full time in architecture so I’ve learned to grab writing time whenever I can. I started writing during lunch break after wolfing down some food and then found I needed more time so I went to work earlier and would write before work started. I also have been blessed with a very patient wife who doesn’t mind if I write in the evenings for a few hours.

What aspect of writing a story do you enjoy the most?

It’s a toss up between character development and writing fast-paced action. Writing action scenes becomes so engrossing at times that it’s a challenge to get the words down before your mind races ahead. On the other hand developing characters so they become real to you and the reader is what creates great stories. Who can forget, in my humble opinion, the real hero in The Lord of the Rings? The stalwart, brave, and selfless Sam Gamgee. Without him Frodo would have failed. A lot of stories lose me because the writer has ignored the development of interesting characters.

Have there ever been times when your characters seem to take on a life of their own and steer your writing in an unexpected direction?

Most definitely. I believe if you’ve taken the time to create great characters they begin to take on a life of their own. They begin to drive the story into new territory that the writer hadn’t even planned on, bringing serendipitous surprises. Something the writer planned in the story suddenly changes because it doesn’t fit the character’s personality to behave that way.

Are there any particular themes or ideas you’ve always wanted to explore in future projects?

Maybe after the series I’m currently working on I’ll try something different. I’ve always wanted to write a nail-biting action thriller with a James Bond type hero with all the cool technical gadgets and larger than life villains.

Could you tell us a little about your published work and where everyone can find it?Exodus Cover

In a way my current book series starting with, Exodus: Leaving Home, is a fusion of all my favorite genres. It’s an epic science fiction space opera, part thriller part fantasy with a slight touch of horror. It takes place in the near future in a hyper-restrictive society that drives a group of men and women called Freemen to seek for liberty on a far distant planet. Anchored in orbit on the far side of the moon, they design and build a massive starship–a modern day ark–to carry them to a new home. While Morstyn, a psychopathic villain, and the sexy Biowired juggernaut assassin, Miah, try to prevent the Freemen from leaving. There are gunfights and swordfights, starfighter battles, death defying stunts, and romance, all set against the epic scenery of a huge generational starship, the moon, and the stark beauty of space.
You can find more information about my book on my webpage at : www.wix.com/tropicbadger/orsontbadger
Various digital formats at: www.smashwords.com

Digital or print format at: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=exodus+leaving+home

Thanks again for speaking with us about your writing, Orson.

* * *

Thanks for coming along and visiting the blog. Please leave a comment if you enjoyed the interview 🙂

4 thoughts on “Author Interview: Orson T. Badger

  1. Timothy Davis 08-Jun-2012 / 16:07

    I absolutely loved this book. It has all the qualifications a dreamer needs to find the element of suspense and excitement … Orson Badger is as close to genius as on can get with that study hand of technical data to keep his head in the game. He’ll be around a long time, and I look forward to much more

    • James 08-Jun-2012 / 19:11

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. This one’s on my reading list for sure 🙂

Comment on This

