Author Interview: Kimberli Renee’ Campbell

Today, I’m pleased to bring you our second author interview! The interest in this has been great and it’s a real joy to be able to share these interviews with all of you out there. Please make sure to check back next Friday for another fantastic interview!

We speak to Kimberli Renee’ Campbell in today’s interview. Her debut novel is called The Sword of Light: Shayia’s Adventures and follows the story of a boy and his extraordinary sword as they battle against a dark force.

3c72427416200a7f023513.L._V154727019_SX200_

Enjoy!

* * * * *

Hello Kimberli and thanks for joining us today.

Thank you. I’m excited to be here.

What is it about reading & writing fantasy fiction that appeals to you over other genres?

New. Everything from the sky to a tiny speck of dirt came from someone’s imagination. The creation of new worlds, characters, and creatures with weird names I can’t pronounce. We get to break free of what is real and expand our minds. It’s truly amazing.

Would you say any particular authors have inspired your own writing?

Oh, yes. Donita K. Paul, Terri Blackstock, and Ted Dekker are a few that have taught me so much.

What is your writing process? Do you like to take notes on paper first, do it all on the computer or something different entirely?

I was a paper first writer until I started writing with the iPad. Now I can’t seems to detach my fingers from the screen. I’m also an outliner. I normally work through three outlines so I know what will be in each chapter. (First-one sentence, Second-small paragraph, Third-summary style) This allows me to see plots and character growth. After the outlines are complete, I allow myself to dream of the story like a movie. Finally, I write out the first draft. It seems like a long process, but it’s not – when I’m motivated.

How difficult/easy was it to motivate yourself to finish your first book?

I was extremely motivated (bordering on obsession) to write and finish my first book. I was blessed with a dream of the entire story. The characters and landmarks were crisp and detailed. The names of the characters came without effort. It was the best experience. With my other stories…I’ve had to work a lot harder.
 
When you complete the first draft of a project, do you do any planning to help you with the second draft or do you jump right in?

After the first draft is complete, I force myself to put it aside. This is no easy task. The story becomes a part of you and it’s hard to separate from it. But when I do, missing pieces come to light.

Is it a challenge to find time to write when you have a family?

Yes. Yes. And I’ll throw in another – Yes. But, you learn to adapt. I’ve written and played swords at the same time. There are times when I have to tell myself to put down my writing because family takes the higher priority. However, writing is what I do. I need to have a balance between the two, which is not always easy to find.

If you could only ever read one book for the rest of your life, what would it be?

The Bible. It seems like a standard answer, but it has so much to teach us about life and death.

If writing has taught you one lesson about life, what would you say that is?

That’s a tough question. Um, I think I would say we need to be patient in all things. Writing takes a lot of patience and so does life.

Where can readers find your own written work and what is your writing about?Sword of Light

My first writing project is an easy-to-read children’s chapter book series. It takes young readers on a journey with a young boy. He wields a special sword that aids him on a quest to extinguish evil. You can’t go wrong with swords and giant fire breaking bird-like creatures.

You can find more about the story at Amazon or www.theswordoflight.com

Check out my blog at www.hiswriter.blogspot.com

Kimberli, thank you very much for taking the time to speak to us.

Thank you, James, for allowing me to visit.

* * * * *

Thanks for reading and remember to check out our next interview this coming Friday!

9 thoughts on “Author Interview: Kimberli Renee’ Campbell

  1. Janet Sketchley 12-May-2012 / 23:54

    Kimberli, I like your three-stage outlining process. Happy writing!

  2. Kimberli 13-May-2012 / 05:27

    Thank you, Janet. Happy writing to you!

  3. Misti Lovett 14-May-2012 / 19:49

    My name is Misti. I am the older and very proud sister of Kimberli Renee’ Campbell. She has a strong passion for writing and is very good at it. Check out her book. Its great!!

  4. Kimberli 14-May-2012 / 20:48

    Thanks, Misti!!! Now you’ve got me blushing. 🙂

  5. rubytuzdae68 16-May-2012 / 13:37

    Kimberli,
    How exciting! I love the cover. I write YA fantasy but I love to read any of it. I will have to check this one out. I wish I could pre-plan the book like you do. I did take a class earlier this year on writing a synopsis which was extremely helpful. The teacher outlined all that needed to go into it and it made me outline what was important and get the book fleshed out enough to write it. Best of luck with this book.
    Dawn Ford
    ACFW IN Midwest Writer’s Group

  6. Kimberli 16-May-2012 / 15:08

    Thank you, Dawn! I hope the best for you on your writing journey!!

Comment on This

