Reading: An Uphill Struggle

I enjoy reading. I really enjoy it. If I didn’t enjoy it, I would never have started writing fiction. If I find a good book that grips me and I do nothing else but read for a few days, I can blaze through it without much effort. The same goes for writing a good chapter; if it fits together nicely, it goes down on paper/screen very smoothly and quickly. It’s like a well-made flat-pack chest of drawers; it takes some time and effort, but eventually you’ll end up with something good.

The Wise Man's Fear
Image via Wikipedia

At the moment, I’m kind-of reading two novels: The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss and Moonraker by Ian Fleming. I am enjoying both of them a lot, though I will say that Dr. No, in my opinion, is a better Bond novel than Moonraker. However, the problem is arising that I never seem to have time to read them. I have the stories stored up in my head quite nicely, so I can grab either of them and read a few pages when I fancy. The other day, I managed to read about 30 pages of The Wise Man’s Fear in one evening (which is a lot by my standards). A few days later, I managed to read 1 page.

The cause, I think, is that I have too much ‘stuff’ to do. Currently, I’m in the process of preparing for my wedding this year. I also recently purchased Star Wars: The Old Republic for the PC and Alan Wake and Sonic Generations for the Xbox, which now sit atop the stack of uncompleted games left from before Christmas (Skyrim, AC: Brotherhood, Orcs Must Die! etc.) On top of this monumental stack of gaming gold, I’m also trying to write a novel and short story. This is all on weekends and after work. Sometimes, I feel like going for a walk or heading into town for a look around and all of the above gets neglected. Most of the time, I’m enjoying time with my wife-to-be (arguably the best use of my time). It’s a lot of ‘stuff’, I know, but it’s all what makes life interesting and keeps it fresh.

So, my (belated) new year’s resolution is to make more time for reading. There it is. If I don’t finish at least one book this year, then I fear all hope is lost. That’s all for now, thanks for reading.

5 thoughts on “Reading: An Uphill Struggle

  1. hereticfox 25-Jan-2012 / 18:38

    My sympathies! Finding time to read always seems more difficult than necessary, I myself am usually too addicted to my latest gaming obsession in my free-time. Recently bought Bernard Cornwell’s “Sword Song,” but haven’t gotten started on it.

    Another good post, mate, but it looks like you left a space out of the line “The other day, I managed to read about 30 pages of The Wise Man’s Fearin one evening (which is a lot by my standards).” It’s the second-last sentence of your second paragraph.

    I haven’t been able to grab that title yet; despite its recommendation by Thunt in about what feels like ages back, how is it?

    Congratulations on the upcoming wedding, by the way!

  2. Aly Hughes 26-Jan-2012 / 12:09

    It really can be difficult to find the time to sit down and read. I personally love sitting down and just getting lost in a book, with nothing interrupting me. Of course, that means that I either never read, or power through half a book all at once. Quite time consuming if you ask me!

    I am about 1/4 way through The Wise Man’s Fear by Rothfuss. So far I think I like the pacing of the first book better. How are you liking it so far?

    • James 26-Jan-2012 / 13:14

      I have to agree with you on the pacing. The first book had a great ‘coming of age’ feel about it (my favourite parts were Kvothe fending for himself as an orphan on the streets of Tarbean). I’m hoping the second book starts to move away from the University soon. Thanks for the great comment!

  3. Pingback: URL

Comment on This

